RSS

Vine and Roses, Penrith.

02 Jun

I have to admit to having slightly anal tendencies when it comes to drawing and art. At school the teachers were forever trying to get me to be more ‘creative’ and ‘imaginative’, which seemed to mean making tat out of scrunched up coloured tissues, whereas I just wanted to draw like the artists in 2000AD. I’d spend ages trying to get a cowboy, or more likely a Native American, just right(I always preferred the Injuns, they had better hair, and could carry off a beaded waistcoat with aplomb. Most cowboys can barely manage to wear frills without looking a bit off, but Geronimo not only managed frills, he even made a hairband look good). Where was I? Yes, drawing things exactly right is what I wanted to do, but somehow the teachers never approved and always preferred the slapdash efforts of others.

So my anal tendencies were stretched to the limit at Vine and Roses on tuesday. Kate likes a fast class, with two and one minute poses, even getting down to twenty and then five second ones. How am I supposed to get the toenails in with five seconds to draw? However, it’s fun and makes a change from the other classes which tend to favour painters over scribblers like me. The class meets every fortnight on tuesdays, alternate ones to Papcastle, at Vine and Roses florists in Penrith, from six until eight PM. Contact Kate at post@kateb.co.uk for more details.

I didn’t get much work to show done in that class, which is fine with me – sometimes it’s good just to draw. I’m quite pleased with the last twenty minute one, though. I decided to make the glasses into sunglasses as the whole pose had a sort of sixties hippy goddess vibe about it. I was tempted to add an Apache hairband too, but ran out of time.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Vine and Roses, Penrith.

  1. kate

    June 3, 2011 at 7:56 am

    Hi Gavin, love the shades!
    Yes Tues was a bit of a mad one, but nice to do something totally different and the 5 second ones don’t half get you mark making in a different way…..
    but it’s a DIY class and we can do whatever poses and time scales people want – totally open to discovery!
    This is a really nice drawing (with or without frills and beads!) will get some sent over to you also.
    See you next time!

    Kate

    PS to book sessions at Vine and Roses call the venue direct: 01768 862969 or email me for more details.

     
    • nick

      September 12, 2011 at 12:55 pm

      i would be interested in coming to the class so if you could send more details please
      Also happy to model for the class as well
      nick

       
      • gavinpollock

        September 12, 2011 at 6:25 pm

        Hi Nick. What more do you need to know? They’re alternate tuesdays 6-8pm and the next one will be a week tomorrow, I think. You’ll have to contact the organisers of any class you want to join or model for, I just draw there and occasionally model for them. Unfortunately it’s now on the same days as my local class ;(

         

Leave a Reply

 
