RSS

More on the comics festival.

13 May

222013456601619545_2GBU7kgG_cI was down in Kendal last week for a meeting about the Lakes International Comics Festival, which meant I didn’t get to any life drawing classes. The festival sounds really exciting, with over sixty top artists turning up from all over the world. One of them will be Glynn Dillon, who drew the incredible ‘Nao of Brown’. Normally, I’d be prepared to hate any comic that was about things Japanese. Japan is my thing, and I get very jealous of others writing about it. I realise that’s not wholly rational, but jealousy never is. However, I’ll forgive Glynn for encroaching on my territory as the book is fantastic.

Sinner-MunozAnother artist I’m very excited about meeting is Jose Munoz, the Argentinian artist behind Alec Sinner and Joe’s Bar. I love the way he leaks black ink all over the page. It’s almost as if the ink just flows into shadows and lines by itself.

On top of that, Costa prize winning Bryan and Mary Talbot will be along and Sean Phillips too! It’s going to be Geek Nirvana in Kendal.

On the life drawing front, there may be a new class starting at Florence Mine, which is an amazing venue. And maybe another artist group around the Penrith area. All depends on artist numbers, of course, but I think we should have enough.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “More on the comics festival.

  1. Nock

    May 13, 2013 at 1:25 pm

    Sounds good gav give me a call if need a model 🙂

     
  2. gavinpollock

    May 14, 2013 at 7:36 am

    Your name is on the list for when the new classes start. 🙂

     
  3. Nock

    May 14, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    Cheers mate

     

Leave a Reply

 
